Mobirise web page software


This unique research experience funded by the NSF IRES Program allows ASU undergraduates and  graduate students  to carry out research projects using of the Low Frequency Array (LOFAR), a remarkable new European radio telescope. LOFAR is the first of a new generation of extremely low frequency radio telescopes that operate between 10 and 240 MHz, making use of advanced computer technology and analysis methods.

         Due to its sensitivity, resolution, and frequency coverage, LOFAR will allow for the first detailed measurements of cosmic magnetic fields, opening a new window on the universe. Through this program, ASU SESE graduate students will participate in research projects focused on overcoming the engineering challenges necessary to perfect LOFAR and apply the telescope to make forefront measurements of cosmic magnetism as well as the Earth’s ionosphere.

          No background is astrophysics is necessary to participat, and The program is self-contained and on the scale of a SESE secondary project. It will consist of three stages: (i) a weekly seminar in the Spring, during which the graduate students, along with two advanced undergraduates, will learn the basics of radio telescopes, cosmic magnetism, and the LOFAR instrument; (ii) a six-week visit to the Netherlands and Germany, during which they will work with LOFAR scientists on research projects tailored to their strengths and interests; (iii) completion of the projects in Arizona during the rest of the summer in collaboration with a team at ASU. All costs associated with the international stage of the program will be covered, and students will receive summer RA funding. Continuing to work with the ASU team after the summer is also encouraged.

          The 2016 program is now closed, but please contact me to learn more about the program for 2017.

PREVIOUS LOFAR IRES PROGRAM PARTICIPANTS: Miguel Bueno, James Cornelison, Kimberley Emig, Michael Falcon, Piyanat Kittiwisit, Reid Landeen, Jacqueline Monkiewicz, Tom Mozdzen,  Devon Powell, Alex Spacek, Stewart Spackman, Diane Van Hoy, Jon Van de Water, Kimberly Ward-Duong, and Amanda Wilber